Posted by .

On October 12th, SEANCE RECORDS will release CROWNED’s Vacuous Spectral Silence debut. A cloaked trinity, CROWNED’s Vacuous Spectral Silence is Australian black metal created under night’s transcendental veil with intelligence, subtlety, and abundant atmosphere, an austere opus traversing life, death, and infinity. A new rising force in the Australian underground creating atmospheric black metal for fans of Burzum, Wolves in the Throne Room, Mayhem, Drudkh, Abigor, Summoning, Midnight Odyssey, and Spire, the silence of ages past is broken by CROWNED’s spectral choir. Their murky veil of atmospheric black metal echoes like the chant of choral ghosts in forgotten crypts, channeling a haunting resonance of the dark ages as creeping shadows enshroud, light scarcely breaking upon the cold stone where a Vacuous Spectral Silence lingers eternally.

Crowned: Vacuous Spectral Silence

Seance004: Crowned – Vacuous Spectral Silence

1. Menelvagor
2. Journey to the Cross-roads
3. Firmament
4. Apocryphal Catacomb
5. Diamonds
6. Vacuous Spectral Silence

CROWNED biography 2012
The three robed figures of CROWNED were unified in 2010 by their isolated rural surroundings and similar musical inspirations. Hence, they formed a somber brotherhood to create dark atmospheric music, channeling their own individual personalities with musical exploration and introspection.

As the year 2010 drew nigh, CROWNED released their demo recording, Ainulindale. Whilst raw, this three-song recording was a premonition of the expansive dark atmospheres and engaging concepts which the band were able to create with their music. The demo was pressed in an edition of 200 copies, which soon sold out as the band began to perform as a live entity around Queensland, Australia. The demo was well received, and they were invited to play several shows and festivals around Australia alongside bands such as The Amenta, Ruins, Pestilential Shadows, Erebus Enthroned, Drowning the Light, and Spire among others.

Not to rest on their laurels for long, CROWNED began writing and recording their debut album, Vacuous Spectral Silence, in 2011. This work was to build upon and fulfill the vision begun with Ainulindale, transcending the demo in technique and production quality. Vacuous Spectral Silence’materialized as a monument to the dark ages, melding haunting Gregorian-like chants with abundant atmosphere, subtle keyboards, and epic ’90s-styled symphonic black metal.

CROWNED creates music with intelligence, stylish musicianship, dynamic moods, and sublime hypnotic qualities. It aspires to spiritual transcendence, celestial and astral heights, while also looking into darkness, death, and infinity through the poetry of their lyrics and composition.

October 12th, 2012 heralds the worldwide release of Vacuous Spectral Silence on SEANCE RECORDS. Next and of what is yet to come, only the ages may tell. Until then, a murky veil of atmospheric black metal echoes like the chant of choral ghosts in forgotten crypts. The Vacuous Spectral Silence lingers eternally and the faceless, nameless brotherhood of CROWNED retreat to the shadows, their vow of silence made so the music may speak for its self with an aura that words can not express.

Crowned (band)
Press release provided by Seance Records.