Posted by .


The first new album trailer for (r)Evolution, the ninth studio album by Swedish heavy metallers HAMMERFALL, is now available for viewing on the Nuclear Blast YouTube channel.

(r)Evolution is due out in North America on September 2nd and was produced by Fredrik Nordström (DIMMU BORGIR, SOILWORK, OPETH), who also helped produce the first two HAMMERFALL albums, 1997’s Glory To The Brave and 1998’s Legacy Of Kings.

About the new album title (r)Evolution, HAMMERFALL guitarist & songwriter Oscar Dronjak states:

“The name comes from the second remake of the Planet Of The Apes movie, ‘˜Rise of,’ In Swedish, it was called ‘˜Apornas Planet: (r)Evolution,’ and the name stuck with me ever since I saw (and loved!) the movie. It seems like a fitting title for this album, since that’s how I view it: We’ve taken everything that makes HAMMERFALL HAMMERFALL and evolved it. So I guess the revolution is that we’ve gone back to basics a little, yet still are moving forward.â”

Hammerfall: (r)Evolution

Track listing:
01. Hector’s Hymn
02. (r)Evolution
03. Bushido
04. Live Life Loud
05. Ex Inferis
06. We Won’t Back Down
07. Winter Is Coming
08. Origins
09. Tainted Metal
10. Evil Incarnate
11. Wildfire

12. Demonized

HAMMERFALL will be performing a unique “Glory To The Brave” show at this year’s Wacken Open Air festival in Germany on July 31st.


Press release provided by Nuclear Blast Records.