Posted by .

Seidr: Logo

Stereogum have just posted “The Pillars of Creation,” a brand new song from Kentucky death/doom collective SEIDR, who are preparing to celebrate the release of their sophomore LP in less than a month’s time. The site praised the band’s “empyrean might,” and describes the track in glowing, awed terms as it “opens in an empty, echoing field of post-rock guitars, and travels wordlessly to a kingdom of climactic doom riffs and low-croaked vocals; when the two sounds converge, the song rockets upward and entirely away from its earthbound origins.”

Listen and read the rest of their assessment HERE.

SEIDR also recently teamed up with major music portal Pitchfork to premiere the album’s title track; listen HERE.

Ginnungagap, their second spell of mind blowing doom, will be released as a 2CD digipak by Bindrune Recordings on September 16, 2013.

The album features the talents of various members of PANOPTICON, WHEELS WITHIN WHEELS, and VIT. It has built upon the endlessly impressive foundation constructed on the debut with more elements of drone, folk and an even deeper glimpse into the emotions and spiritual conflict of the trio behind SEIDR as they glimpse with wonder to the heavens to ponder the age old questions, “why am I here and how do I use the star stuff coursing through my veins to make sense of it all?” Difficult questions sure to cross the minds of all of us, but this band truly poured their souls into the creation of this release, so that the outcome shines with an endlessly crushing and hauntingly beautiful answer… the beginning and ending is irrelevant… the universe has always existed, and will always exist.

With an organic and dense sound field captured by the band and further realized/mixed/mastered by Colin Marston, Ginnungagap is an endlessly deep well of sound textures that sculpt these songs with reverence and envelope them with waves of sincerity. With hearty contributions to this album by Chet Scott (Blood of the Black Owl/Cycle of the Raven Talons), Jack Hannert (Kolga/Giant Kind) and Kyle (Lake of Blood), Ginnungagap is a product of close friends and spiritual family coming together to create one of the best albums you will hear in 2013, if not in recent memory, and Bindrune is thankful to bring this labor of love home to all of you.


Track Listing:
1. A Blink of the Cosmic Eye
2. The Pillars of Creation
3. Ginnungagap
4. As You Return
5. The Red Planet Rises
6. Sweltering II – A Pale Dot in the Vast Dark
Total running time: 87:26


Press release provided by Catharsis PR.