Review – Vicious Rumors: Electric Punishment

By -
  • Bio: n/a
  • Label: Steamhammer/SPV
  • Release Date: April 26th, 2013
  • Genre: Groove Metal, Heavy Metal, Power Metal
  • Website: Visit Website
  • Rating (out of 10):

I’ll be honest, sometimes I end up with more CDs to review than I even have time in the day. I try my best to get through them all, but by the end of the week I feel like I haven’t even made a dent. I’ve been thinking about a way to at least give these bands I don’t really get to some coverage on the site, and thus “Fresh Meat” was born. The concept? Quick, magazine style reviews that seem to be all the rage. This evening, three new albums hit the inbox, and I decided to sit down and check them out real quick.

The ViciousRumors (band)

Electric Punishment is the eleventh album from Vicious Rumors, and it shows a band that still has it. Like usual, there’s a strong Heavy Metal foundation, but it also has some Thrash tendencies, which is how things kick off with the with the abusive “I Am the Gun.” The high intensity track hammers away for roughly six minutes, and is followed with the more restrained “Black X List,” showcasing a catchier performance that screams for singing, but it met with harmonized harshness for added bite. For the most part, the album takes after “Black X List,” though “D Block” makes for a strong Heavy Metal anthem with a commanding performance. But, the last half derails quickly. “Escape (From Hell)” starts off like a ballad with horrible effects on the clean singing, and it just continues from there including an eighties Rock Ballad with “Together We Unite,” and a formidable cover of the KISS classic, “Strange Ways.”

Electric Punishment will be available from SPV Records on April 29th, 2012, and, while not the most amazing effort from the band, it’s one fans will still enjoy.

The ViciousRumors

Digital review material for this article provided by SPV Records via Freeman Promotions.